Scribbled Thoughts & Coffee

Turquoise Tides

The sun sets behind deep clouds, welcoming a dark velvet sky, moonlight trickles down. Music seduces the patio garden as turquoise tides caress white sands.

Life lately has been a sea of emotions and at times I feel drowned, the currents are strong and at times drag me under. Yet on the surface I appear calm only showing slight ripples as they break my surface.

Wanderlust lurks in me. It’s the trail of petals leading to my departure, the wind which whispers to my heart and face, promising of lessons and growth. I sigh as it strangles my life, in its beautiful grip. A journey is not simply getting from A to B in a physical sense, yet in a mental sense too. Until we understand the tides of our own emotions, we will not understand life itself.

I have been busy mentally planning for an upcoming trip overseas, that is much needed and wanted. This is the longest in my life that I have not journeyed and everyday is becoming consumed in my restless energy.

Yet..

Nothing satisfies the man who is not satisfied with a little –  Epicurus

Toni-Yvonne

 

 

This entry was published on June 29, 2012 at 8:02 am. It’s filed under Escape, Inspiration, Life, Ocean, Philosophy, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Turquoise Tides

  1. These are absolutely gorgeous! You just took me away. Have a wonderful trip. It’s so nice to have something to look forward to, isn’t it? 🙂 xoxo

  2. I’m so excited for you! Have a great trip!xo

  3. Oh, these photographs are exquisite, and pair so beautifully with your words. I too have succumbed to wanderlust lately, and feel caged not being out, exploring. I’m trying to decide where I may want to travel! 🙂

  4. I love these breathtaking images and have no doubt that your next trip will be wonderful but love that you are trying to be happy where you are too, sometimes that’s the biggest challenge – happy weekend to you!
    xo Mary Jo

  5. I think the quote at the end is so very true, Toni. I’m already thinking about more travel this summer… who knows where, watch this space…. although I realise that it is often more psychologically I want to escape than physically! x

    http://www.styleonthecouch.com

  6. Have a wonderful trip. These images are beautiful but even more so are your words. I love stopping by your blog, there’s always something inspirational to read.

    xx Jenee C.
    http://camomeetscouture.blogspot.com

  7. You’ve made my mind wander with these lovely photos. I hope you’ll have a wonderful trip!
    Ada

  8. CinZilicious on said:

    Lovely descriptive writing that provides us with a full imagination=) Hope things are going good with you!!! Have a fun time on your trip wherever it is you’re going=D

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

