Scribbled Thoughts & Coffee

Sound of Civilisation

Trees sway in the afternoon breeze as the ocean caresses white sand. In the distance, the city glimmers, shimmering with lights and dreams. Barefoot I wonder, passing slumbering blossoms, and alone I encounter my self.

“I fear I am loosing my mind”

As a 13 year old girl, huddled over a near strangers kitchen table, battling insomnia in the depths of the night, this was the first thing I wrote, that started me on my writing path. Ever since I could remember my life had been one long stream of changing tides and deceitful currents..

Foreign cities sparkle like diamonds, the airport buzzes with travellers looking for direction, exotic languages promise adventure and meaning. That 13 year old girl is still a part of me, and her thirst for life pulses through me, her search for truth continues.

You might never see the cage until your’e free.

Toni-Yvonne

This entry was published on July 20, 2012 at 4:04 am. It’s filed under change, Escape, Inspiration, Life, Philosophy, Time, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Sound of Civilisation

  1. “Foreign cities sparkle like diamonds, the airport buzzes with travellers looking for direction, exotic languages promise adventure and meaning.”

    This quote should be in the dictionary right next to the word ‘Wanderlust’ – it is perfection! 🙂

  2. I tried to leave a comment earlier, so not sure if it took–but if not, I just want to say how much i love how you capture longing and travel, and I love the beautiful images you chose too. Hope this week is a good one for you!
    xo Mary Jo

    • Thank you so much – I am so inspired when others appreciate my writing.

      I believe I can capture these things in the way you love because I feel them and am drawing on personal emotions – not just fiction.

      Take care xx

Leave a Reply

