Scribbled Thoughts & Coffee

Après moi, le déluge.

The cloudless sky stretches in to eternity, leaves blanket the ground they crinkle under foot. My heels tap against the cobble street as a crisp wind engulfs me. Faceless pedestrians push past me, they never look me in the eyes, cars thunder past in the chaotic slumber of my daily life.

When I was 6 my mother was depressed, she could not get out of bed. The house was heavy, rain always drizzled, wine bottles cluttered the floor. A soft lullaby of cries and screams hushed me to sleep. Every morning I would bring her a hot chocolate to help her out of bed.  My memories were false, nightmares were my reality.

My body traps me, my essence strangles me. I scream. Each breath is heavy and forced, at times I forget how to breath, how to walk.

My coffee is now cold, my head is spinning, my stomach aching.. I try to stuff down the demons, the reality. Through my writing I scream, in silence I wail.

Yet still, sun shines, oceans caress white sands, life goes on. Appreciate, for you in all your nothingness hold so much more than many.

Breath.

Toni-Yvonne

This entry was published on August 6, 2012 at 11:24 am. It’s filed under appreciation, change, Coffee, Escape, Inspiration, Life, loneliness, Philosophy, Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Après moi, le déluge.

  1. I can’t even tell you how much this post hits home! Gorgeous words, my love xoxo

  2. I always relate to your writing – I feel as if we are forever on the same page. 🙂

  3. Such a poetic post. Your words are always so hauntingly beautiful. I love how they never have a beginning or an end.. like the name suggests, it’s just scribbled thoughts.

Leave a Reply

